ABOUT US

Formed in 1988, the WI Chapter of SWANA serves solid waste professionals throughout Wisconsin. Our goal as a chapter is to enhance our profession and our members’ careers through: 

  • organizing and execution of trade conventions and seminars;

  • offering training courses in solid waste;

  • updating members on legislative actions affecting the profession;

  • providing academic scholarships;

  • hosting speaking luncheons and mixers to promote exchange of ideas and networking.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS
John Welch

President/International Board Representative:
Dane County
Madison, WI
608-516-4154

welch@countyofdane.com

Erik Lietz

Vice President/Safety Chair

Oakridge Engineering, Inc.

715-723-6777

Erik@OakridgeEng.com 

Meleesa Johnson

Treasurer/Legislative Chair:
Marathon County Solid Waste Dept.
Ringle, WI 
715-446-3101 x104

meleesa.johnson@co.marathon.wi.us

Chris Anderson

Secretary/Social Media Chair:

Foth Infrastructure and Env., LLC

De Pere, WI 
920-496-6832

chris.anderson@foth.com

Lindsey Carlson

Region 3 YP Co-Representative

SCS Engineers

Madison, WI 

608-216-7363

lcarlson@scsengineers.com

Chad Doverspike

Brown Co. Port & Resource Recovery
Green Bay, WI 

Chad.Doverspike@browncountywi.gov

Allison Rathsack

Dane Co. Dept of Waste & Renewables 
Madison, WI

rathsack.allison@countyofdane.com

Dave Hagenbucher

Region 3 YP Co-Representative

Marathon County
Ringle, WI 
715-446-3101

david.hagenbucher@co.marathon.wi.us

George Shereda

Scholarship Chair

TRC Environmental Corp.

Madison, WI 

608-826-3618

gshereda8@gmail.com

Alex Thomas

Student Board Member 

UW-Stevens Point

920-257-9430

Alex.Thomas@uwsp.edu

Mark Toressani

Tetra Tech

608-334-2846

Mark.Torresani@tetratech.com

Susan Schuller

Administrative Assistant

Recycling Connections
Stevens Point, WI  
715-343-0722

swanawi@gmail.com

COMMITTEES

Chapter committees meet on a monthly or ad hoc basis. Check the calendar to see what upcoming meetings you can be a part of!

Legislative and Advocacy- The function of the Legislative/ Advocacy Committee is to keep the Board aware of pertinent legislative issues and to work closely with other organizations regarding these issues, as necessary.

Contact Meleesa Johnson at meleesa.johnson@co.marathon.wi.us

Membership- The function of the Membership Committee is to recruit new members for the Chapter while working to retain the current membership.

Contact: Phil Gearing at pgearing@scsengineers.com

Safety- The function of the Safety Committee is to provide promotion and education of safety to members and the solid waste and recycling industry.

Contact Erik Lietz at Erik@OakridgeEng.com

Scholarship- The function of the Scholarship Committee is to operate the Chapter and Association Scholarship Programs as established by Policy.

Contact George Shereda at gshereda8@gmail.com

Social Media- The function of the Social Media Committee is to properly use and maintain the appropriate social media sites and technologies in support of Board goals and other committee initiatives.

Contact Chris Anderson at Chris.Anderson@Foth.com

Young Professionals-  The function of the Young Professionals (YP) Committee is to encourage involvement of YP members in the Chapter and to advance and serve the needs of YP members.

Contact Lindsey Carlson at lcarlson@scsengineers.com or Dave Hagenbucher at david.hagenbucher@co.marathon.wi.us

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS

The Chapter co-hosts an annual convention each year. The Wisconsin Integrated Resource Management Conference (WIRMC) features speakers from across the nation, as well as vendors and site tours. The convention is co-hosted with Wisconsin County Solid Waste Managers Association (WCSWMA) and Associated Recyclers of Wisconsin (AROW).

  • w-facebook
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

SWANA -
WI Badger State Chapter

 

Join Us Today!

© 2020 by Recycling Connections. Proudly created with Wix.com